REVIEWS OF LES VALLAIES 2016
family friendly gites in France
2016
2015
2014
2013
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
and before
McGhee family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Baleine gite, July 2016
children aged 5 and 2 yrs
Well what can I say - this has been a fantastic holiday for us all at Les Vallaies. The cottage is equipped with
everything you could possibly need when you have children. The garden area is great, our children would often head
straight out to play in the morning, it's full of toys, swings, a slide and is a big area for them to play and explore. The
swimming pool is great too. We spent many days relaxing and playing there. The cottages are so peaceful and you
feel like you are situated in a very special part of the Charente Maritime. You're very near to amenities and local
towns. There's a lot to do in the area and any bigger trips are only half an hour to an hour away so it's very easy to
break up your stay with trips. We visited Cognac, did the Hennessey tour, did the boat trips at St Savinien and would
recommend them both. The local markets are also worth a visit and the kids loved the local goose going for its
morning walk ! The activities and information pack provided by Wendy and Chris are fantastic. There's no pressure so
you can get involved in what you and your family are truly interested in. They're a lovely couple with two lovely boys
and together they all make you feel very welcome, comfortable and looked after. Safety at the property is spot on too.
Our kids were free to roam about freely. Would highly recommend these gites and we'll definitely be back. It's a little
piece of French heaven - Enjoy !!
Lock family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Vierge gite, June 2016, child aged 2
We spent a wonderfully peaceful week here. We had the best of both worlds; being the only occupants at Les Vallaies meant we had the run of the garden
and pool and we were also invited to join other guests at La Grange du Moulin for the activities such as the teddy bear picnic and vineyard walk. The cottage
was so well equipped with everything you could possibly need (down to a cudly toy for a little girl !) Wendy and Chris made us feel very welcome and were
more than happy to share their knowledge and advice on the local area. The vineyard walk was a real highlight for all of us - our daughter loved the freedom
to explore the countryside and we enjoyed learning a little more about this beautiful area of France (and being introduced to the local Pineau !) We loved the
tranquility of this place, with proximity to beautiful towns and villages to explore. Thank you so much.
Gibson family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Cassiopee gite, July 2016
Lovely, spacious, clean gite in the countryside with lovely town a short drive away. Large swimming pool on your doorstep with friendly, approachable owners
who arrange fantastic social events. Practically - kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms had all we needed and loved the barbecue. Would definitely recommend for a
relaxing poolside holiday with plenty of options for outings and perfect for families with children
Delaney family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Pavillon Villa, July 2016, child aged 4 yrs
We have had a lovely, relaxing but also busy week. Wendy gave me lots of information via email prior to our holiday and always responded quickly. We loved
our villa and the privacy of our garden where we enjoyed sitting out with a glass of Pineau/wine and cooking bbqs. The pool was lovely, as was the jacuzzi,
both well heated, and our daughter enjoyed the toys. There were activities at La Grange du Moulin and our daughter enjoyed painting a bag, but we mainly
went on day trips - La Palmyre zoo, Cognac, St Jean d'Angely for food and duck feeding at the lake, St Savinien and pony riding were also great. Thank you
Wendy, Chris and the boys.
Marshall family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Vierge gite, August 2016, child aged 7yrs
We deliberately chose to holiday at Les Vallaies so that our 7 yr old son would have lots of playmates ! He has had a wonderful time and so have we. This has
been a very relaxing holiday with plenty on the doorstep to do and see. The pool was also a huge hit. Many thanks.
Cole family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Baleine gite, August 2016, children aged 6 & 2 yrs and 5mths
First visit. Enjoyed very much and perfect setting for families. The older two enjoyed the pool and garden side gite was great, safe and very child friendly. The
gite itself was perfectly equipped for young children. Good that there was a room and bathroom downstairs and very cool inside on hot days. We preferred
this location (Baleine gite) as we could keep ourselves to ourselves but interact during the day around the pool . Great local environment and activities at La
Grange du Moulin too that both our girls enjoyed. Great that high chair, stair gates, clean cot and covers and baby chair which was an added bonus but
definitely need a pram and big blanket from home if you have a baby under 12mths as the floors are wooden and rustic. Washing machine was also a life
saver. Garden facilities were great and used loads. All in all a very much enjoyed holiday had by all and credit to Wendy and Chris and family for building and
making such a great family holiday destination. Thank you very much
(Note from Wendy - we can supply pushchairs and soft play mats on request)
Armstrong family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Cassiopee gite, August 2016, child aged 5yrs
Friendly hosts with lots of things to do. We only stayed 1 wk, wish we had stayed for 2 ! Weather great, friendly neighbours. The cottage was comfortable and
had everything we needed for our stay. Thank you for a great holiday.
Lee family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Baleine gite, August 2016, children aged 7 and 6yrs
Super spacious gite in the rural French countryside. No one (including kids) wakes up until 10am so we've had the most relaxing break. Lovely neighbours
and too many late nights meant we needed to lie in ! Would love to come back so kids can try scuba diving again.
Bromfield family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Pavillon villa, August 2016, children aged 12 and 8yrs
Another fantastic holiday, so relaxing, great place to recharge. Kids had a great time, met some fantastic families and enjoyed a glass of wine or two. Thanks
Chris and Wendy for the warm welcome and for looking after us again.
Wolseys family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Cassioppe gite, August 2016, children aged 9 and 6yrs
We have had a fantastic holiday. The cottage was just as described and our children loved being so close to the pool. They have made some great friends
and so have we. Wendy and Chris are so helpful and really couldn't do enough for us. Thank you so much.
Rudon family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Vierge gite, August 2016, children aged 13, 9, 4 and 2 yrs
As your earliest arrivals ever, you both accommodated to our early needs by cleaning the cottage for us quickly. All the children made lots of friends, us adults
did too. Hopefully it won't be long before we are back.
Castro family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Baleine gite, August 2016, children aged 6 and 4 yrs
Fantastic ! Exactly as advertised. Our kids loved making new friends as did we. Perfect balance of family and social time. Would recommend to anyone
seeking a family holiday in stunning location.
Barber family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottage, Cygne gite, August 2016, children aged 5 and 2 yrs
We've had a lovely time. Not only has the weather been glorious but the gite was exactly what we needed. Well equipped kitchen, separate bedrooms for the
children, no need to bring anything except a favourite teddy ! The pool has kept them entertained for hours and we've made good use of the wood fired pizza
oven with the other families at Les Vallaies. All in all, just the break we needed !
Cundill family review of Les Vallaies holiday cottages, Pavillon villa, August 2016, children aged 8 and 6 yrs
We had a super holiday here in the Villa at Les Vallaies. The villa is well equipped with everything you need and great for families as the childrens rooms are
the opposite end to the double !! It was the perfect blend of unspoilt, tranquil country (we spotted hedgehogs, field mice, birds of prey, herons) with meeting
fabulous friendly families who our children played with happily in the pool and shared garden. Super ! Thank you.